Students encouraged to 'think big' and 'be kind'

AWARD-WINNING students won praise from a successful entrepreneur who returned to his old school to congratulate them on their achievements.

Ed Ellerington, who set up his first business when he was a 16-year-old schoolboy, told how he had been inspired by his teachers: “I had one of the best possible starts in life at Ripon Grammar School. My school days really were among my happiest.”

Speaking to students, their families, staff and civic dignitaries, Mr Ellerington, who left RGS in 2005, was the special guest at the school’s annual lower school prize-giving ceremony.

He told students, who received a host of awards for academic and sporting achievement, effort and integrity: “I encourage you all to think big and soak up as much as you can from this place.”

Earlier, headmaster Jonathan Webb announced that RGS, which has been the top-performing state school in the North for six years running, had just won planning permission for a £250,000 changing block and cricket pavilion to sit alongside the school’s new world-class 3G pitch, opening in autumn.

Mr Ellerington said it was fantastic to see how the school had propelled forward since he left, with magnificent new facilities and an impressive range of extra-curricular activities: “Ripon Grammar School is at the very forefront of providing a full and well-rounded education.”

Following a stunning performance by third form student and singer Emilia Lennox, he told the packed hall how he set up his first text messaging property marketing business, which he later sold to the Halifax Estate Agency, while he was a boarding student.

Having joined RGS from a tiny village primary school on the North York Moors, the former deputy head boy deferred going to university to follow a career in banking and real estate and recently launched an innovative £25m build-to-rent property business with an estimated portfolio pipeline of £300m.

He confessed his school days were among the happiest of his life: “I look back fondly on the people, both the staff and students that I met here. I joined as a somewhat rural bumpkin and left a confident and well-educated individual.

“It’s the pupils and staff that really shape this place and it’s a fantastic achievement that this year’s results are the best ever. The number of prizes and commendations today is further recognition that the school is in safe hands.”

He concluded with this advice for students: "Whenever possible, say 'Yes'. You never know where an opportunity will take you. Nothing lasts forever, good or bad, always be prepared to pivot. Flexibility in this ever-changing world is key. And be kind to people around you."

Chair of governors Elizabeth Jarvis praised students and staff for their latest exceptional exam results, which place RGS in the top 2% of schools for pupil progress, adding: “But exam results aren’t the only thing that make RGS. The school community and the people are what makes it such a special school.

“Today we also celebrate activities outside the classroom, all of which contribute to our special community, where every student is valued and encouraged to achieve their potential.”

As the only state boarding school in Yorkshire, she said staff always go the ‘extra mile’: “Ripon Grammar School is never closed.”

With both Outwood and Ripon Grammar School given the highest possible rating by Ofsted, she added that every young person in Ripon had access to an outstanding secondary education: “That is something we can all be extremely proud of.”

Headmaster Jonathan Webb reflected on a year of tremendous academic and sporting successes alongside outstanding music and drama, and said he had read hundreds of overwhelmingly positive end-of-term reports: “Whether you receive a prize or not, you can be proud of the work you have done.”


Form 1A and Form 1B

  • 1.Elizabeth Bordewich 
  • 2.Oliver Kitson 
  • 3.Eliza Polito
  • 1. Annabel Grant
  • 2. Herbie Ash
  • 3. Rosa Ruth Jones
  • Commendations
  • Elizabeth Bordewich,  Annabel Grant, Leena Athab, Holly Maisey, Toby Baxter, Lily Baxter, Oliver Kitson, Tess Holloway, Eliza Polito, Rosa Ruth Jones, Angel Cook,  Theo Kendrick, Freya Linegar

Form 1C and Form 1D

  • 1. Grace Nelson
  • 2. Meabh O’Cofaigh
  • 3. Nia Peedell
  • 1. Qin Yi Yaw
  • 2. Daniel Brown
  • 3. Sophie Hooks
  • Commendations
  • Francesca Faulks,  Sophie Hooks, Grace Nelson, Hugo Wade, Nia Peedell,  Daniel Brown, Alexis Pound, Isla Davidson, Sadie Evans, Beatrice Pickles-Mercer, Meabh O’Cofaigh, Dulcie Say, Imogen White

Form 2A and Form 2B

  • 1. Anna Bradley 
  • 2. William Jarvis 
  • 3. Isabel Burningham
  • 1. Samarth Dasarathi
  • 2. Caitlin Brownlee
  • 3. Olivia Peacock
  • Commendations

Anna Bradley,  Caitlin Brownlee, Millie Dean, Isaac Henson, Emily Harris,  Samarth Dasarathi, Magina Mirando, Meghan Irwin, Isabel Burningham, Darcy Sands, William Jarvis, Max Masey, Eunice Adeyemi, Olivia Peacock, Lucy Mayes,  Maisie Willis, Molly Ord, Beatrice Rudland-Simpson

Form 2C and Form 2D

  • 1. Florence Maylor
  • 2. Ionas Gilbert 
  • 3. Oliver Callaghan
  • 1. Kai Newby
  • 2. Lillian McDermott
  • 3. Alexander Whitaker
  • Commendations

Oliver Callaghan,  Alexander Whitaker, Holly Dunkley,  Grace Bleiker, Florence Maylor, Caitlin McKeag, Charlie Lock, Coral Watt, Martha Robinson, Kai Newby, Charlotte Withington, Olivia Vollans, Edward Murray, Lucie Brown, Evie Wood

Form 3A and Form 3B

  • 1. Isobel Bean 
  • 2. Adam Carpenter 
  • 3. Poppy Bailey-Gough 
  • 1. Amelie Mallon
  • 2. Benedict Dunn
  • 3. Jessica Polito
  • Commendations

Adam Carpenter,  Soundarja Tripathi, Poppy Bailey-Gough,  Amelie Mallon, Louise Smith, Alexander Ford, Indiana Barrett, Benedict Dunn, Evie Dowland,  Emma Ibbotson, Agatha Scott, Jodie Musgrove, Evie Donnan, Madeline Pound

Form 3C and Form 3D

  • 1. Carrie Chapman
  • 2. Jonty Allen
  • 3. Ruby Hall
  • 4. Brooke Kendall
  • 1. Isabel Robinson
  • 2. Hannah Preece
  • 3. Matilda Lee
  • Commendations
  • Jonty Allen, Elizabeth McEvoy, Emily Hodgson, Matilda Lee, Carrie Chapman, Hannah Preece, Karenza Dearden, Katie Campbell, Molly Blythe, Emilia Praud, Matthew Dunn, Jacob Ryder, Scarlett Eyles

Form 3E

  • 1. Ruby Todd
  • 2. Samuel Cann
  • 3. Charlotte Wood
  • Commendations
  • Laura Parsons, Ruby Todd, Imogen Wren, Samuel Cann, Charlotte Wood, Florence Hills, Isabella Weston, Fleur Smith, Archie Bain, Ryan Green


The Robert Atkinson Prize for Art: Henrietta Simenacz

The Robert Atkinson Prize for Design Technology: Jonty Allen

The Lower School Prize for English: Louise Smith

Mrs Anderson’s Prize for Food Technology: Jasmine Cheung

The Mearns Prize for Progress in French: Ruby Todd

The Lower School Prize for Geography: Charlotte Wood

The Lower School Prize for History: Barnaby Paterson

The Lower School Prize for Mathematics: Kate Rushworth

The Lower School Prize for Music: Evie Sladden

The Andrew Mawson Cup for Physical Education: Joshua Moon

The Barbara Selby Cup for Physical Education: Marnie Scatchard

The Lodge Prize for Poetry: Isabel Robinson

The Lower School Prize for Religious Education: Hannah Preece

Mrs Bowdery’s Prize for Progress in Science: Isabel Robinson

The Junior Drama Trophy: Benedict Dunn

The Contribution Cup for Boarding: Florence Hills

The Contribution Cup for Boarding: Alexander Ford

The John Benson Memorial Trophy for Integrity: Jonty Allen

The Prize for All-Round Achievement: Soundarja Tripathi

The Junior House Trophy: to be announced